German: Der die das

The last time I seriously taught German (to my Greek neighbors), I only used “male” items on the table throughout the race, in order not to confuse them with the manifold inflections. Now I have at least one German student here, and this session (our third), I started with three glasses of water (ein Glas Wasser), one of them full, one empty, one almost empty. She managed this, and then I introduced a bowl (eine Schüssel), and later a pot (ein Topf). I think my strategy here will be to do the same stuff with all three, and see if that confuses her, or actually makes it easier for her to differentiate.

Leave a Reply

